Ultimate Subaru Message Board

There's a 2008 Impreza 2.5i with the sport package (not an outback sport) in my area for sale for $14,000. It's got 102,000km on it and appears to be in good shape. Although I have not run a report on it myself yet, the owner says it's clean.

Is $14k a bit on the high side for a car that's 5 years old and has over 100,000km on it?

UC

I paid $13k last week for a 2009 Legacy 2.5i Special Edition. 40,000 miles. Pretty clean.

Check out Edmunds or KBB. I go by trade in value and add $500 or so when making an offer on a car.

I'd offer them $10k and go to $12k or so after a few counter offers. If you can't get a good deal move on. Another car will come along. I've overpaid for a car or two and hate when I do that.

Good luck.

There's a 2008 Impreza 2.5i with the sport package (not an outback sport) in my area for sale for $14,000. It's got 102,000km on it and appears to be in good shape. Although I have not run a report on it myself yet, the owner says it's clean.

Is $14k a bit on the high side for a car that's 5 years old and has over 100,000km on it?

UC

$11-12k is more like it, but then again it is the newer although not newest body style. These cars got esp.

Ok, thanks!

Edmunds and KBB put the value for a private sale between $9500 - $11500 depending on the condition. The car is in good condition but it has a few small surface rust spots developing on the hood and roof.

Does being in Canada have a big effect on these valuations? Should I expect to pay more than that here? I check the Canadian Black Book website and it put these car at over $16,000! I think there may be something wrong with that calculation....it's not a WRX for goodness sake.

The owner wants $12000 or more...I think that's a bit steep for a car with over 100,000km on it.

Mechanically, it should run for 300,000 km at least, although it might take a bit more maintenance/repair than you would like.