Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Amazing Outback Fuel Economy

The last tank was 31 MPG. The one before was 28 MPG. Both about 80/20 highway/city. We have been getting 24 MPG consistently all winter with plenty of idling. This is the best mileage we have ever seen out of this car, and it is happenning at ~153k miles. I guess my complaining about AWD fuel economy in another thread was poorly timed! I don't trust the readings yet, I am going to keep records for a while to see what it actually is.

I would love to credit the sythetic lubricants I am using throughout, but I don't think that is the only reason as I have been using those for a while.

The most obvious change was mounting the summer tires, Yokohama Avid Touring radials, and increasing the tire pressure to 35 PSI front and 34 PSI rear. I have no experience running pressures above the manufacturers recommendations, so I hope the wear will be even. I have been running Blizzaks since November 29 PSI front and 28 PSI rear, at those pressures the centers wear only slightly faster than the outside. Of course the summer gas change happens around this time of year, if such a change still happens in NY.

I don't know for sure why the outback is sipping gas but it is and I like it!!!

Our 99 obw always got decent mileage. It has been like clock work since new at 29 mpg of mixed city and hwy. The mileage has been in the mid to low 20’s through the winter with the snow tires and after the head gasket replacement (also, much idling in the morning). I have yet to take the snow tires off, possibly next weekend and I am looking forward to seeing what the mileage is since the HG replacement. 31 is great mileage for an obw especially at +150k. Auto or manual?