Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1992 Legacy EJ22: Odd problem with the heating blower (a/c)

I have a very odd problem with my heating blower: If it's "warm" weather (let's say above 10°C / 50°F), the blower works just fine. But if it's colder, the blower won't work until the engine warms up (gauge about middle). Depending on the outside temperature (or better the engine temperature), this could last from 1 or 2 minutes to about 20 minutes...

Do I need to say, that it's a bit cold inside the car then? ;) Apart from fogged windows... :) If the engine is warmed up and I restart the the car after a few minutes, the blower just works fine from the start.

So, I studied the workshop manual, but I couldn't find any thermostat which would explain that behavior. I don't know for sure, but it could be related to the upgraded air condition which I swapped from another Legacy. But since I did the swap in summer and the effect only occurs in winter, I don't know if it' really related to it. The a/c works fine though...

Anyone an idea? :) Thanks!

Most likely the motor is just going out. Pull it, sometimes there is junk in there that may be part of the problem. Just a connector and 3 screws. There is no temperature control.

Check to make sure there is voltage at the fan when the switch is on and it's cold/not working. Could be a bad switch or the resistor pack which controls the speed.

Are you checking it on High?

I had the same problem years back with my 91 Legacy. I thought the motor was going bad, so I bought one from a wrecking yard. Upon doing the swap out, I realized the blower motor was bogging down because of leaf and dirt derbies that flows down from the area around the windshield wipers. I cleaned out the crap, and the motor worked just fine.

Slide the passenger seat all the way back, remove the glove box door to gain access of the blower motor. Just a few screws gives you access. It is an ez project.