Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Those headgaskets are actually unbelievably easy to do as far as headgaskets go, just about the easiest subaru headgasket job there is. Blow by possibility mentioned earlier I have no experience with how prevalent that is so no comment.

if you want to replace the engine:

http://www.car-parts.com

Option 1:

You can use any 1996-1998 EJ22 from a legacy or impreza

If yours has EGR, you need to get an EJ22 with EGR. You should ask the seller as there is no rhyme or reason as to which have it and which don't in 96-98's.

If yours doesn't have EGR you can use either and block the EGR hole.

Option 2:

You can use a 1995 EJ22 from legacy or impreza as well if you get the exhaust manifold with it. Same EGR rules as Option 1. In 1995 only auto's all have EGR and manual trans do not have EGR (this rule doesn't apply to other years though for some reason).

Option 3:

You can probably even use older 1994 and earlier EJ22's - your intake manifold bolts to the engine and I'm not sure which exhaust they have, but if it's dual port you'd have to get the exhaust manifold with those too. I'm unfamiliar with the 94 and earlier models so not sure what else you need but it can be done.

Option 4:

Another cheap option is to get an EJ18 - available in 1996 or 97 and earlier imprezas, but you'd have to get a dual port exhaust manifold with it. Those can be had really cheap, I got mine for $150 with only 100,000 miles and a warranty. They're basically identical to your EJ22...timing gear, water pump, cam seals, crank seal, oil pump, valve covers...everything is the same. Just bolt Ej22 intake manifold to it.

*All Ej18's have EGR (that I know of), so any Ej18 will work on your car, you just use the EGR if your vehicle has it or block the hole if yours doesn't.