Ultimate Subaru Message Board

looking 2 buy a legacy under 3k.. i am a mechanic.. hows reliability?

Hello all!

So i am new to Subaru, and not quite yet an owner.. However i have heard that subarus are reliable and easy to fix.. This is exactly what i need (plus awd).. automatic is what i want (yes i know its a sin).

So what should i look for, what to avoid. I have heard that the engines can easily be pulled out without a lift and almost every part is easily replaceable without busting your knuckles and cursing at someone. Not looking to do any racing just looking for reliability and awd (son on the way)...

unless repaired/upgraded to multilayer steel type headgaskets, mid/late 90s model non-turbo 4 cylinders have known HG failures. Not every single one, but enough to be untrustworthy. Later cars cna have external weeping.leaks of coolant and maybe oil.

while soobs have their own quirks, they are MUCH easier to wrench on than FWD, transverse engine cars.

as with any used car, present condition and prior care mean more than brand reliability. Definitely learn to watch for 'torque bind' . Can be a s simple as a wrong sized tire, but can also mean destroyed wet clutch pack or bad Duty Solenoid C in transmission.

The H6 engines have a great reputation in general.

don't expect blinding acceleration or stellar fuel mileage.

there are plenty of 200 and 300K miles soobs around.

if you have questions about a specific problem or system on the cars, do search for info. Also, there are DIY guides here for many repairs.

Edited by 1 Lucky Texan

Should be noted that the head gasket issue is most prevalant in the ej25 engines.  As he doesn't mention a year or model, the ej22 in the non outback non gt late 90's legacy is really what I would recommend.  Don't get me wrong the ej25 is not a bad engine, just a little more to think about with them.