Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I got this old brat on a trade, what y'all think? It's a one owner but hasn't been driven in 10 years. The motor had been taken apart and left for the rats to live in and chew one. I've got it cleaned up and put back together, but when it warms up at idle the oil pressure light begins to blink on and off. Is this common with these old motors or is the oil pump just weak?

Wow the body looks clean as hell!!! Very nice looking brat!!!! If your oil light goes on Im guessing there possibly can be an issue on either your oil level or pump but Im no expert. Wait for a more inteligent reply from someone here on the board with better know how than me. Please post more pics!!!!

79 brat is righ. Make sure the oil level is correct. Also I am not sure if this would affect it but make sure you have a good oil filter. One that is clogged may or may not affect the oil pressure. Running too thin oil can make the pressure low. 10w30 or 40 should be fine. If the idle is too low it can cause low ppressure. Make sure its idling 800-900RPM's. If you don't have access to a tachometer just make sure its idling fast enough to not be stumbing. Also, the sending unit could be faulty. Try attaching a real oil pressure guage and see what you get. I am not sure what spec pressure is but I will hook one up to mine tomorrow and tell you what I get. If after all of that the pressure is in fact low your next place to look is the oil pump. I am not sure if our ea71's have a screen at the oil pump but if it does it may be dirty. Clean it. If the oil pump has seals they could be seeping, replace them. Or get a new oil pump. If after that you still are have low pressure issues you may be looking at worn mains.