Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Does injector cleaning really improve fuel economy?

I remember about 6 months after I bought my Loyale in 1994, the dealer service guy tried to sell me on an injector cleaning service. Now I am no mechanical genius, but even I could tell that ws not needed at least at that new of a car.

I have seen videos suggesting that cleaning fuel injectors will improve fuel economy and make it run smoother. Has anyone else had experience doing this? I know there are a variety of things out there from service shop machines to simply a can of seafoam. 

I have never had an injector cleaning service done. I just throw in a can of techron every few years.  My fear is that an "injector service" would cause more problems than it would solve and injectors aren't cheap. My soob runs ok to me right now so maybe best to leave well enough alone.

Please post your experiences on this topic.

Edited by MR_Loyale

My dude used techron to try and solve a misfire issue. He ultimately replaced what was a bad injector, but the techron did help it run smoother until he got the part. If you are already treating with techron, you may as well not need the professional service.

you onlyhave one injector anyway assuming you have spfi. supposedly the injector cross references with nissan if you think you should replace it. but i think the nissan has a higher flow rate.

are you trying to improve economy, or just administering preventive maintenance? The alcohol blend fuel these days hurts the fuel economy compared to straght gas

• Like 1

My dude used techron to try and solve a misfire issue. He ultimately replaced what was a bad injector, but the techron did help it run smoother until he got the part. If you are already treating with techron, you may as well not need the professional service.