Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Piston Slap / Rod Knock ?

Hey gang,

Help me diagnose this one if you can, please.

Here's a video of my 98 ej22 making a racket. I'm hoping for piston slap because I don't believe that to be fatal...

Facts that I know:
1. The noise gets quieter as the car warms up but never completely goes away.
2. The colder the morning the louder the startup
3. I have no knowledge of the car ever being overheated but I've only owned it for about 14,000kms (forgot to say: the car is currently at about 235,000kms)
4. It does have oil in it.

Edited by fishy

fishy,

Its been many years and three newer OBW's since I had my 97 OBW LTD, that did the same thing as yours. At around 23 000 km it developed this same symptom under the exact same conditions. Owned the car until 2004 and 279 000 km later and never had an issue with the motor, or with the car for that matter.

I can't say if yours sounds the same as the one I had (too many years ago) but my wife and I just lived with the issue until we traded cars. Any research I did at the time suggested that piston slap was an annoyance only, and had no effect on engine longevity.

If your noise is piston slap, it shouldn't be a problem for you. There is no need to worry. Good Luck!

• Like 1

Rod knock always gets worse as the engine runs for a longer period of time in my experience.  I don't like piston slap and make great strides to eliminate it in all the engines I rebuild but I never pull one out of a car because it does it-always recommend to the customer that they live with it.  I know of one customer with 50,000 miles of slapping and no other problems with the motor.  I am amazed these don't at a minimum consume oil a little bit but the ones I have worked with didn't even do that.