Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1993 Subaru Loyale, Just bought it, have a lot of questions and need lots of answers.

Just recently bought this Subi Loyale sedan off CL for the whopping price of $675, has some little issues but overall, it was a steal!

I had a couple questions, as I am new to Subi's as I have driven a 1988 Chevy s10 until now, now I drive both it and the Subi. I am pretty proficient at working on my own vehicle, so any advice is helpful to me.

First off, the dash backlights for the gauges sometimes go out, I can smack the dash and they come back on, usually it is the left side lights. Just the backlights for the gauges.    What could it be causing this?

Second, my fuel pump makes a funny noise, like it is surging or something to that affect, I assume this is not good. What could this be?

Third, sometimes when I go around curves, or give it gas, it wants to bog out on me, it acts like my S10 does when it is running out of gas, (just dies until it picks up a little more), except I usually keep the tank at least halfway full. Any particular reason this happens? Could be the pump? Or a sensor of some sort?  I have the 1.8l single point injection.

Fourth, I have the 3 speed auto model. To run 55-65 I have to push the engine harder than I do in my truck, I know that the engine is designed towards this, but will it hurt it in any way if I drive it for say, 1 hour at sustained 65 mph?

Fifth, the tach and speedo sometimes stick a little, the tach more so than the speedo. Can I fix this? What causes it.?

Sixth, my windows... They have a hard time rolling up and down, and have what looks to be roller scratches on them.. Do they have rollers? If so, are they accessible for cleaning? I fear they may have grit in them, which will continue to eat away at my windows..