Ultimate Subaru Message Board

87 GL Wagon Brake Booster Stud Broken

Busted the stud off the the brake booster while installing the master cylinder, there's enough to grip it and take it off but i haven't had any luck yet getting a good grip. 

What I'd like to find out is if I can tap out the old stud if I can't get that one removed, I just have no idea how much metal there is there.

My book doesn't have rebuild instructions for the booster because "it takes specialized tools" it says, so I don't have an exploded view or any other reference. I have zero experience with brake boosters (or master cylinders for that matter, but the book walked me through that.)

What the book didn't say was "Hey dumbo, don't over torque it!"  I thought there was a seal between, which there clearly isn't because there is no gasket.  I come to realize this 3 drinks after the fact.

Edited by noahkort

I think i might just JB weld the master cylinder onto the booster, then when the booster (or cylinder) needs to be replaced, I'll replace both. Am I crazy?

I could drill out the stud, but after breaking stuff once I'm leary.  To drill it out, I'd have to take out the booster, or remove tons of stuff from the car, or get a really small drill. If I remove the booster and/or get a new one to install, according to my book I need 2 seals, one on either side of the spacer. I have not been able to find these seals on rock auto or the such any tips, reckon I could make them, but what am I sealing? Vacuum I assume?

i wouldn't remove the booster, way too much work IMO, but too each his own.

if it's a stud - can you simple remove it and replace it?  if there's any metal yet - place a nut on the existing threads and weld them together.  then use a socket on the nut to pull the stud out.