Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Some background...

I recently started a thread on providing microcontroller-based electronic modules.  In it, concern was expressed that I might not understand the scope and complexity of such an undertaking, and/or that I was shying away from wading in to electronic design.   Perfectly understandable, especially considering my communication skills.  (Even poor skills can be called skills. ;) )

So, without (much) apology, my "CV":

I have been working on cars and motorcycles since around 1972, and on other things mechanical since 5 years previous.  I fix things; I make things work. It doesn't matter much what it is.  In 1973, I got interested in computer programming, and, shortly after that, in electronics.  I got a job in mainframe computers in 1979, taught myself several computer languages (including several assembler languages, micro and IBM mainframe).  I got hired as a Programmer (IBM BAL) in 1987, and worked as a Programmer until around 2004.  During this time, I also took college courses in Electronics Technology, missing out on my Certificate by one class.  (The instructor left the program.)

Most of my programming experience has been "on the metal", in machine-readable code.  I understand how processors work, why they work.  In Assembler/machine-code, the hardware does exactly what you tell it to do, which can be unfortunate when running in a Privileged/Supervisor state (which most of my later coding was in).