Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1986 XT Turbo!

Hey guys I'm new to the forums, but I just picked up a 1986 subaru XT turbo FWD! I'm also new to the subaru family, so ill have a ton of questions in the near future. But it's mostly stock 91k original miles(super stocked about that) , 5 speed , tmic, sti hood scoop, and a 3" exhaust all the way back w/ magnaflow muffler. Boost pulls hard but it needs a new clutch soon... Ugh -.-

My future plans are to:

-add a MBC

-BPV or BOV

-slamming the sh*t out of it... I'm going cut springs for now, but if anyone knows about a good set up for at least a 3in drop, please shed some light on that.

-and my last and probably my most expensive mod I plan on doing(lol budget build) is going AWD than from there convert to RWD.. Any input on that idea would be really helpful. I wanna know cost, parts list, and fabrication work etc.. The reason I got the idea is because I know a guy who has a Wrx wagon and he converted his to rwd, he said he can brake the wheels loose on the freeway ! I want my xt to do that..

Thanks in Advance !

Ill post pics up soon..

dont mess with the boost, the motor really cant handle much more than it came with.  considering the mods already done Id investigate and make sure you still have the stock turbo on it.  if not repost here with the one you have and see what people say.  the stock turbo is 7psi, some people run 10ish ok, but you have to be carefull, once you hit double digits your pushing it. putting a full sized modern turbo running 15-20 boost is pretty much just manufacturing explosives.  it has been done but it takes a lot of research and knowledge, so at least wait to mess with the boost.

personally I think your best performance gain may be replacing that exhaust with a 2-2.5 inch version.  built big blocks dont even need 3 inch most of the time.  I doubt that the EA82 can clear a 3 inch exhaust, though I dont know for sure how it reacts with that big pipe.