Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I have major back problems and want to upgrade the struts (maybe spings) and mounts.  My aim is not to lower (lots of snow up here), but to improve ride comfort. Not necessarily softer, just smoother.

I can't find anything here or elsewhere regarding this.  Any informed opinion would be really helpful.  Given the cost of the upgrades (vs car value) I can't try a number of systems.

Thanks in advance, I am a newbie here.  I will be doing the install myself, but will pay someone else to do the alignment.

Struts are what you want to focus on. The springs merely hold the weight of the car up, struts are what controls how that weight moves. Struts can make the ride smooth as glass, or hard as a stone.

The original struts are usually the best mix between smooth ride and decent handling. But since yours are now 16 years old, they're probably pretty well worn out.

KYB Excell are stock replacement OE struts and will restore the car to its original ride quality.

If you think you may want something a bit softer, Monroe makes an OE style strut designed for Import that has a softer ride than the original struts. They are designed with the idea of removing some of the "harshness" of factory struts, which usually means they're going to be extra soft.

Some other thoughts.

Ride harshness can be affected by worn out wheel bearings, suspension bushings, ball joints and tie rod ends. Give all of these parts a through inspection and replace anything that is worn or loose.

Strut mounts isolate some of the jolts that transfer through the strut from reaching the chassis of the car, but they wear out with age and mileage. Of the rubber in the mount is cracked or split, plan on replacing the mounts as well.