Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Rust Repair Panels for 1998 Impreza L

Hello All,

I am brand new to this world of Subaru.  I have started my experience by purchasing a 1998 Impreza L with the 2.2L (that is the EJ22 correct?).

Having 125000 miles on it, the rust has taken over the rockers as well as the rear wheel wells and fenders. 

I am looking for some rust repair panels online and have come up with nothing.

THE QUESTION:

Has anyone had any experiences with repairing the rocker panels / wheel areas from the rust cancer?  Were you able to find any pre-made rust repair panels? 

Kind Regards,

Mikey

post-49424-0-85735300-1379007582_thumb.jpg

post-49424-0-13462100-1379007595_thumb.jpg

Once it starts in those areas it's very hard to stop.  No panels that I know of.  The Wheel Wheel rots due to the cancer all the way at the top of the strut tower outside wall that lets moisture into the inner fender.

Get a rust free CO Car.

Larry

You might save the rear wheel panel area by cutting it out.  Get a dramil.  You have to cut out the metal to where it's not rusted.  It looks like an area 18" and 12".  The you do the fiberglass [or welded sheet], bondo, precoat, final coat matching color and lacquor.  Will it look good?  Well, not great but better then rust.  Your other alternative is to let it rust.

The rocker panel is really bad.  I have no idea what you do there since its a structual part.