Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Front disc brake job...

I am planning on doing a brake job on the front discs. I bought pads and rotors, some brake cleaner and lubricant for the pins. Is there anything else I will need?  Do I need the bearing seals? It looks like you remove the castle nut and then the hub with the rotor. Or am I reading it wrong? On all the youtube vids I saw on this the rotor appeared to be in front of the hub. I am looking at the Haynes diagram on this.

I hate getting into the middle of a job and having to stop to go get parts. I have never done a brake job before so that is why I am asking so many stupid questions.

Edited by MR_Loyale
  • Like 1

Pretty simple to do, and pretty much as you think.  Remove the castle nut, pull off hub with rotor, separate rotor from hub.  You might want to consider breaking loose the rotor-mount bolts (the 4 bolts you see near the studs) while the wheel is still on the ground or can be held stationary by the brake.

No seals needed, though you can replace the outboard bearing seal if you want or need to do so.  Sometimes the rubber pin boots and/or piston dust boot are trashed.  I have found that, at times, these are difficult to find available anywhere.

Remember that the caliper's pistons need t be screwed back into the calipers rather than pressed, and the piston-side brake-pad's location pin needs to slide into the gap in the center of the piston.  (Piston has to be turned to a certain orientation.)

• Like 1

Make sure the parking brake is released so you can turn the piston. Pay attention to the orientation of the axle nut and the associated washer, as they are installed in a specific order (spring washer). Putting in the spring washer backwards will cause the nut to lose torque.

Hi,