Ultimate Subaru Message Board

how to identify transmission and transfer case in a Brat?

odie

Newbie here...I tried the search function but haven't found much yet...

Basically how do I visually identify what transfer case I have? It's a 1985 Brat GL (assuming the emblems are correct). 4 speed trans (the knob says 4 but could be a swapped knob) and I can't "find" 5th by searching with the shifter so I'm pretty sure it's a 4 speed. The transfer case lever doesn't say anything other than 4WD. No high/low markings. It shifts up into 4WD ok but that's all. The owner's manual says to push the clutch in to shift further into 4WD Low but it won't move any farther.

It's entirely possible someone removed the 5 spd and dual range and swapped in a 4 speed and single range T/C. Not sure why. Or is the 5spd Dual range an optional item for the Brat? I had assumed all GL Brats were 5 speed and dual range.

All manual transmission Brats had 4 speeds from the factory, not 5.

Not sure about the US but in Australia all Gen 2 Brats/Brumbys (and yours is a Gen 2) had dual range 4wd too.So something seems to be amiss. Are you sure you are pulling the 4wd lever all the way up for lo? There should be 2 discernable detents when you use the lever.

Of course the transmission could have been swapped at some point.

Edited by Leeroy

I don't want to force the lever up. The person I bought it from said they bought it from a guy who had 2-3 other Brats and used them for mudding a lot. I can definitely see were he would have swapped transfer cases so he could have the more desireable dual range unit. Is there a difference in the case exteriors that would identify it for sure?

I could look for signs that the TC has been pulled (marks on bolts, case to trans mounting joint disturbed and such)

The engine is marked EA81, but GL and DL both had the same engine?

Is there a part number or stamping on the TC that would identify it?