Ultimate Subaru Message Board

2001 Outback 2.5; Timing belt snapped at freeway speed

Car just gave a mild 'thump', turned on the CEL (Cam Position Sensor) and allowed me to coast it up an off ramp and even pull into a curb side parking space.  Pulled the cover and confirmed the broken timing belt there on the street and had it towed home.  Compression Test shows 0 on all four cylinders.  

I read that as very, very bad.  But I was expecting to see some variation.  Hard to believe I hit it just right to bend every possible valve.  Of course, without the belt the cams are now "resting".  Does this naturally put the valves in an open position halfway through the stroke?  Any other logical investigative steps before pulling the heads?

I'm trying to figure out how broken I am before picking the next path.  The options I see are replace belt and cross fingers, rebuild and know for sure, or toss it and go with a new car/engine.  This is a daily driver and I'm not a quick mechanic so we would likely be paying for the rebuild if it goes that way.

pull the heads and install a used set, that's the best way to go.

look here, find some locally, craigslist - $75 - $200 for a set of used heads ready to go.

www.car-part.com

as long as the pistons aren't damaged (which i've never seen yet), yo'ure golden.

that engine isn't hard to do with the engine in the vehicle.  remove top trans mount (one nut) and two lower engine mount nuts (2 nuts) and you can jack the engine up a few inches giving plenty of room to do the heads with the engine insitu.  3 nuts = easy.

doing a compression test on a broken timing belt engine is suicide.  it can't build compression properly with a broken belt, nothing is working properly, whatever results you got would be meaningless. a leak down test may show something if you properly aligned things first.

i've seen lots of bent valves...over half...so yeah lots can get dinged.