Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1997 Impreza Outback Sport Face Lift

impoutback 97

My 1997 Impreza Outback Sport has been evolving ever since I found this site 5 years ago. Since then Ive lifted and converted parts from various Subaru models, picking and choosing what will work for me and my off road capable goal. 

This face lift has nothing to do with the cars function except It will incorporate the large foglights that come with the 1998-1999 Front bumper for a Legacy Outback. 

I plan on swapping a 1996 outback, single piece/face headlights and grill onto my 97 impreza by drilling the spot welds and removing the top radiator mount support and head light, sheet metal framing. Just like Legos, It should take little tweeking to make it work. I also plan to run a 1998-99 Outback front bumper. Everything should mesh well  and I cant wait to have it finished.

Why am I doing this?  Ive been gathering parts here and there for a couple of years now. A month ago A deer jumped out in front of my car and took out my front end/bottom radiator mount, radiator, a/c evaporator, and the passenger side head light and turn signal. Hood made it out unscathed, as did both fenders. The deer caused my passenger side front disc break to lock up and pulled me into the oncoming traffic lane. Luckily no other cars were on the road and my dogs were safe. Needless to say, the accident forced me to put my parts gathering into action and see if it could be done. I allready know that the bumper will fit and line up with the wheel wells because that what I was running when I hit the deer.

More pictures to come as it progresses...

post-27346-0-16519200-1386375214_thumb.jpg

post-27346-0-46246800-1386375239_thumb.jpg