Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Greetings,

I'm obviously new to the board here, so I would like to say hello to everyone.

I've ran into a problem installing the timing belt on my Impreza, and I was wondering if there was anyone here that could assist me. I know there is a great deal of information reguarding timiing belt replacement and I've been reading/watching a lot of it for the last 4 or 5 days. Unfortunatey, I have not yet been able to find an answer to this question. I wouldn't be surprised to learn that it was already covered somewhere, but I may not know enough about my problem to formulate a proper search for it.

Now, I have to say, I'm not a mechanic. I've done plenty of simple jobs (brakes, startes, alternators) and I even replaced the rear stuts on an earlier Impreza some years ago. I went into this job with as much information as I could find and it didn't really seem all that complicated, tedious yes, but not overly complicated. I still don't really think it's complicated, but I do have a problem,

My situation right now is that I acquired the new timing belt and was working on installing it. Before I removed the old belt, I rotated the harmonic balancer to line up all of the timing marks. As far as I can tell, I have aligned them all properly. I could post the plethora of articles I've been reading (and still have open) if there are any questions about that. I had used some small C-clamps lightly tightened on both cam shaft gears to keep the marks on the belt lined up with those on the gear. When I was trying to put the rest of the belt into the ears/pulleys, something happened. There was a noise and the right side (driver side) cam gear rotated ~45 degrees. Now it dioesn't seem to want to move or line up again. I don't know what the noise was and it may just have been the C-clamp striking something as it rotated, though I don't think so.