Ultimate Subaru Message Board

5W-30 dino juice to thick for cold snap

The only better option would be a synthetic 0w-30 or 0w-40 oil, which tend to be very expensive.

A 5w-30 synthetic will flow better than conventional 5w-30 in the cold, and still provide the proper viscosity at operating temp, without breakign the bank.

Synthetic oil does not flow any better,

Viscosity is viscosity,

If they flowed different,viscosity  #s would be different.

I would not use 0w-30 unless the owners manual says it is OK,

magnetic pan heater sounds interesting for a simple temporary solution.

it is said 0w is too light for older Subaru engines so i avoid it but i have no experience running 0w, i don't think the owners manual recommends it does it? 

Mine seemed to be starting fine and we were seeing down to -8 earlier this week.

Viscosity is viscosity,

I thought the same as you... all 5W-30s would be equally viscous. That must true under the temperatures and conditions of the viscosity rating test, but it seems to be untrue in practice- synthetic oils just seem to be less viscous when judged by how they pour. (Note, I'm not a synthetic oil fanboy by any means, I use Dino oil and only use synthetics when the manufacturer mandates it.)  I'd be interested to hear if anyone else has observed this and if they understand the reason.

First I have ever heard of synthetics not having a lower powering point per viscosity. I remember years ago seeing an oil chart that list dozens of manufactures and synthetic lines would be 10-20 degrees lower power points than conventional within same brands. 

Synthetic oils do not thicken as much as conventional oils when they are cold.

Synthetics often have better cold cranking viscosity ratings, which means they are more easily pumped through the engine, even if they appear to visibly flow the same as a conventional oil.

Bobistheoilguy.com is a great resource for learning about the various tests that motor oils are put through.