Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1984 Gl Wagon

Hey guys newbie here!!

I've been looking for a LSD or POSI or something for the rear end of the wagon?? 

I don't now what rear end I have or gears or anything about it???

I do know that it's a 1.8 EA81 that is swapped to a 1.8 EA82 with a Weber 32/36 non turbo 4wd.....ect....ect.....ect.

I just need to find a lsd or something or I'm just ganna give it a Lincoln Locker!! HAHA. :)

• Like 1

check the 4wd section.

there are some subs with a stock limited slip rear, but I think generally you will have to put your ring and pinion on it due to a difference in ratios.  you should be able to search it out easy.  not much you can do with the front though.

yah the overall rear end is the same, just a different ring and pinion gear and a limited slip carrier. either way the part you want is the carrier, its pretty easy to swap the gears themselves.  I think some of the newer gen rears will work as well, but can't be sure on that.  obviously if you swap the trans and rear then you won't have to change the ratio.

says that its already swapped in your original post, do you want to swap it or is it already changed?  If you have an EA81 then I wouldn't swap it.  the EA82 introduced a few small issues and you have to change timing belts.  not worth it for 8 hp or whatever its got over the 81.  if your planning on putting money into a swap, check out an EJ swap so at least you can get a proper look at your options.  the extra cost to do an EJ would probably be a bargain compared to the gain (if your going to swap anyway).

• Like 1

yah the overall rear end is the same, just a different ring and pinion gear and a limited slip carrier. either way the part you want is the carrier, its pretty easy to swap the gears themselves.  I think some of the newer gen rears will work as well, but can't be sure on that.  obviously if you swap the trans and rear then you won't have to change the ratio.