- Heater control

- brake booster

- 4wd vacuum line (I think?)

Misc.

- EGR & ASV disconnected. No quarter trick performed yet on ASV

- Fuel return line & tank vent line disconnected at metal lines near firewall

- Electric choke hooked up

- Fuel mixture set at 2 turns out, idle speed set to 7-800 rpms

Now for the problem...the car starts up quickly and idles.....sounds decent, BUT I'm getting a pretty constant popping back through the carb at idle & throughout the rpm range. I have not driven it yet just ran throttle up by hand. I just found a quote from GD that stated backfiring was usually an ASV or exhaust leak issue. On that note, my front cat on the y-pipe is fairly rotten and leaking so that may be it? A buddy suggested I was one tooth off which is easy to believe as I'm a noob with Soobs.

As far as timing goes, the engine had the stock Hitachi on until this weekend. Perhaps it needs to be advanced a bit......

Any help is very much appreciated, I'm SO CLOSE with my first Subaru, reseal, engine R/R, etc. etc.

As she sits.....

zmE31X9.jpg

I Kindly suggest you to start by Moving Forward the Timing at the Distributor... Despite that my EA82's under the Hood Sticker said: 8º (+/- 2º) I discovered that it Runs way better between 18º and 22º ... I run it at 20º since many years ago.

Also, do you know how big are the Weber's main Jets?

Kind Regards.

• Like 1

Both 140 for the primary & secondary jets. I'll try & advance the timing tonight. Right now the distributor is set as far counter-clockwise as it will go (if that makes sense). I left it in the same spot as when I disassembled for the reseal.

I was thinking perhaps that I may need to hook my return line back up. If so, where should I on the Weber?

Yes, seems like the Timing is Way off...

140 + 140 is the Usual jetting for EA82's

... I was thinking perhaps that I may need to hook my return line back up. If so, where should I on the Weber?