Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Newbie Here - EA82T No Spark at Coil...Tried Everything I Think!

Hi All,

I have a gorgeous 1985 Turbo Sedan in incredible condition inside and out, but the car hasn't been starting for months.  And a snowy Boston winter is when I need it most!  Car can be seen here: http://www.checkoutthiscar.com/2012/09/pleasant-pleiades-83k-mile-1985-subaru_14.html  I hate to see the car garaged and not running, and I bought this little mountain goat to use it!!

Just to preface, this is my first post, though I've read every last thread I could find related to this subject.  I must be missing SOMETHING, but I can't figure it out.  I've been at this for literally five weeks and I feel like I'm at a dead end.  Here goes...

Car cranks but no spark at coil.  Primary and secondary circuits are within spec on a new Accel 8140(?) coil.  Coil reads ~12V at both + and - terminals.  

Importantly, the tach does not respond when cranking.  I have tried 2 separate digital gauge clusters to no avail.

Coil is connected as follows:

black/white from distributor to +

12V from harness (black/white) to +

yellow from distributor to -

yellow from harness to -

thick black ground from harness to -

I have a loose plastic connector from distributor not connected (what is this?)

I have tried 3 separate distributors.  Original, junkyard, and rebuilt/tested from Advance Auto Parts.  Same problem with each = no spark at coil.

Tested all HT leads from coil to distributor and cap to plugs.  All good.  Cleaned all pickups on old cap and rotor.  Tried new cap and rotor.

Took off both fenders and tested continuity of all wires through engine compartment and under dash, etc.  I cannot locate a fault anywhere!

I've installed a new battery and have not checked the charging system since the car won't fire.