Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I just had a new motor put in my 98 Legacy GT. I bought a used JDM EJ25 and had the local garage put in in for me. They swapped the motor, test drove it and gave it back to me. It was running when I picked it up with no problems. By the time I got the 10 miles to my house, it was leaking coolant from both sides of the engine, and a little bit of oil from somewhere. I drove it back to that same garage and had them look at it. They eventually called me back and told me the problem was a plugged PCV valve that caused the cam seals to blow out. 

While I am not a mechanic, and am not intimately familiar with Subaru engines, I have pretty good working knowledge of internal combustion engines in general. I can understand how too much oil pressure would push oil through the cam seals, but I can't stretch my imagination enough to figure out how that would cause coolant leaks on both side of the motor. 

I took my car back from that garage thinking that they were either trying to pull one over on me, or they were just incompetent. I might of overreacted, but I have a serious distrust of mechanics.

My first thought was that I had two blown head gaskets on my new engine, but after looking in to it,it seams that the 1st generation EJ25's with the DOHC rarely if ever blow a gasket where the coolant leeks to the exterior of the engine, and to have both of them blow in that fashion at the same time doesn't make any sense.

My only other guess is that the water pump is leaking and pushing the coolant out of the timing belt cover. I will put the car up on ramps later today and see if I can determine exactly where the coolant is coming out at, but I was curious to know if any of you had ever heard of an issue like this.  

Edited by danielabrams555