Ultimate Subaru Message Board

strange issues and sad mistakes

so first off i should just say im new to both this forum and the subie world. ive only had the constellation on my grill for a few frustrating weeks and im already drooling over rallying videos and gold rims. of course my vehicle, a 1989 subaru RX, is from before all that and that is ok by me. 

anyways on to the real talk. i dont really know too much about working with cars or specifically with electronics. ive done some work on motorcycles and enjoyed it so im trying to do all the work i can by myself on my new subie. now there have been several mistakes made that have brought me to the point im at now, the first of which being i bought it out of an impound lot for $500. it was running fine and had had a recent engine rebuild and i only planned on having it for a month or two to learn stick and tool around in during the winter. i drove it back the first day and it did great until the battery died at a gas station. alternator was working fine and the battery was very old so i bought a new one and asked my brother to put it in while i went to work. this was my second mistake. he put it in backwards and four hours later i came home to a gallon of gas under my car. turns out the fuel pump relay was stuck open and the running fuel pump flooded the crankcase spilling onto the ground. i got a new relay changed the oil and, still not realizing the battery was backwards, tried to start the car. obviously nothing happened so i took the battery out to be charged. when i got it back i realized my brothers mistake and put it in the right way only to have the same thing happen to me when i turned the key. nothing. no lights or dash or starter. nada. so i swept through the fuses, finding nothing and eventually wound my way down to the fusible links. sure enough the black one was toast so one trip down to the junk yard later and i had a new black fusible link and lights on in my car.