Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hi guys, I just got a new car!! I now have a 96 Legacy Outback, It is a 2.2, five speed. I have been searching for a while to find an acceptable example and have made a few posts here looking for info and I finally found one. It has heated seats, side mirrors and a block heater. The AC works and the car as a whole is in wonderful shape. It will be getting a timing belt before I start driving it daily and the rear shocks are making a noise I have never heard before. Other than that, the car is a dream for 1400 bucks. It does have 255k on the tach though, that and the aftermarket sunroof are the cars biggest problems, but both problems I am willing to deal with for the price. It feels great, feels like a car with half the miles. My plans for the car are a daily driver that does fairly lite autocross duty. I am not going for championships or anything but I am an avid driver. The first thing I would like to inquire you SubaGuru's about is suspension. The car needs shocks anyway, I would like to do an upgrade if possible. I have read that 02-07 WRX parts bolt directly in with the possibility of slight rear end sag, is this true? Also, I have a few different weighted springs laying around along with some adjustable collars. I am considering buying shocks and just putting my own springs and collars on and going! Before I do that though I would like to know stock spring rates, and maybe hear a few suggestions of what harder spring rates might be good for double duty. Anyway, I am very excited to get this thing on the road, my first and only car until now (I'm 22) has been an 87 Honda Prelude so this is a big departure for me. I appreciate any knowledge you guys can lend me!  

Edited by Blair

The Outback is a "raised" version of the Legacy, so I don't think low suspension parts from a WRX will fit an Outback.