Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Slight grind in gears after changing manual transmission fluid

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to Subarus. I bought a 95 Subaru legacy L a couple months ago. It has 255000 miles on it but runs strong and I haven't had any problems up until now. 

When I got it, I did the requisite tune up stuff, new spark plugs, wires, oil change, fuel filter, etc. At that time I noticed while checking the manual transmission that the gear oil in the transmission was disgusting. Looked like it hadn't been changed in years and it was about a quart over full. So since I work at a lube shop I resolved to change the transmission fluid as soon as possible. I looked in our computers check chart and for all Subaru Manual transmissions it requires GL5-75/90. So I bought 7.5 pints of our house gear oil, which is RedLine Synthetic 75/90 and changed the transmission fluid. 

Now, almost immediately afterwards I notice a slight grind when shiting into third gear, and sometimes second as well. It doesn't seem to do it when the car is still cold but after driving a while it gets worse until its a pretty pronounced grind when shiting into third. I am still able to get it into third okay, but that grind makes me nervous as hell.

The strange thing is, when I am downshifting, I experience no grind at all whatsoever in any of the gears. Only when going from 2 to 3rd, and sometimes from 1st to 2nd. Very strange. 

I have a hard time believing that just changing the gear oil could cause this, but I know for sure it wasn't doing this before. 

Can someone shed some light on this? I really am nervous about it and don't know a whole lot about Subarus. 
Thanks in advance.

Nick

Straight synthetic is too slippery for the synchros in the old transmissions.

Change back to plain ol' 80w-90 and it'll be fine.

Really? are you sure? That seems like too easy of a fix. Lol. So it doesn't like synthetic gear oil? Is this a pretty well documented problem?