Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Brand New Subaru Owner - '84 GL AWD

It's an auto, sadly, but it's a beautiful car.

My name's Andrew, and I'm a producer on a feature length documentary being shot this August following four guys driving 5,500 miles from Seattle to NYC in an effort to prove that the "On the Road" ideal of cheap, meaningful adventure is still accessible in 2014.

OK enough of that though - this isn't about plugging a movie. I'm here to learn about my new car - all the ins and outs, and learn from the vast wealth of experience here on the board. I used a lot of info I found here when researching the GL, so thanks!

The car is in pristine condition - one owner for its entire lifespan, and the ORIGINAL owners manual is still in the glovebox, complete with all the inspections, etc. Only 106k on it, and even after sitting at the used car lot for a decent amount of time, the engine turned over instantly. I'm kind of in love right now. Haha

My only question right of the bat, is about the carb. I'm not very familiar with carbs, and I've been told that if we do a lot of altitude change - which we will - that I may have to jet it on the fly. Anyone have any experience to that end?

Here are a few pics:

1D741F5A-A1F9-47C3-B11C-4DE204B65FEB_8_z

1_zps4c6b7481.jpg

136_zps2c946997.jpg

83_zpsdbf6109f.jpg

Hi Andrew--welcome aboard.  Wow, that looks like a new car!  Good find.

Can't help you with the carb, but if you post questions in the Old Gen forum you'll probably get lots of response.

Good luck with your cross-country trip--sounds like fun.

• Like 1

That looks AWESOME!! Wish mine was an auto. 

I think you'll be fine. You may have to shift down some as you climb, but I think it will run. Perhaps some premium gas or octane boost would help at higher altitudes. 

If you come thru north platte Nebraska, let me know, and we can get coffee or something. 

John

• Like 1

That looks AWESOME!! Wish mine was an auto.