Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Electrical Post of Desperation

A post of desperation !!!!!  

First off let me start by saying I am an automotive instructor, but before that I worked on Subaru's for 10 years. And still do. But I suck at electrical so I have always been and will remain to be a line tech. Its what I like. 

Now the skinny. A student of mine just got done replacing the transmission on a 96 lego sedan (for another student that is graduating and getting ready to go off to college.) When we went to start it, it was a no start and it won't come out of shift lock, unless you do the screw driver trick. 

Upon further digging around we found an aftermarket security system, (and no the original owner knew nothing of this) so I hooked up a remote stater switch just to see if the engine cranks..it does. But no va-vroom. 

I found the valle' switch and tried every reset option I know of, but NOTHING!!!!!  So after careful deliberation and wire tracing we decide it would be best to remove said security system that way the new owner (student going to college) won't ever have to worry about this again. I must say the installer did a very thorough job so its not all hacked up. But after doing all of this the vehicle still does not start.  

What is even more weird is there is other wires that have been tapped into other connectors with those crimp/speed splicers. But it all looks like factory wiring crap. I think it may be part of the factory fog lights that are installed in the bumper. 

I just need this car to start and run, so we can run it through its paces and finish other stuff up. By FRIDAY WHEN SCHOOL ENDS FOR THE SUMMER. So ya no stress or anything.