Ultimate Subaru Message Board

New member with a new (to me) Subaru

Hello Friends, 

So a couple of weeks ago i picked up a 1997 Legacy L Wagon from one of my customers. I'm a mechanic at a Liberty Service station in Northern Virginia. A bad idler pulley cause it to throw the timing belt, and they didn't want to put that much money into a car with almost a quarter million miles on it, so we made a deal, and the car is mine. Luckily the 2.2L isnt an interference engine, so i was able to get it running with little effort. It was a one-owner car before i bought it, super clean, and VERY well maintained so even with 230,000 miles it still pulls strong. 

I'd like to do what i can to make it unique, and a little more functional for my needs, so i need your help. i need you guys to point me to the right threads on here for tips and tricks. here goes:

>the rear end in sagging a bit. I know i can just replace the struts and springs out back, but being as this is the "L" model, the whole thing sits a bit lower than im used to, having mostly driven trucks and SUVs in the past. if i wanted to get a little more height, maybe just an inch, tho inches max, should i go with strut spacers, or the struts/springs from an outback or forester. i just want a little more ground clearance for driving up hunting trails and fire roads in SW Virginia, i'm not trying to tackle the Rubicon. 

>are there any issues taking the wheels from a newer model and putting them on my car? i want to upgrade from the 14" wheels i have, but i want to make sure i don't get wheels that wont clear the calipers. 

>finally, can anyone recommend a HID or LED headlamp kit? i drive down dark roads alot, and any extra lumens are greatly appreciated. i have already restored the lenses on the headlamps, and properly aimed them, but i could still use some more brightness. 

Thanks, and anyone who needs mechanical advice on subarus or anything, really, let me know.