Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Question for those who use the Seafoam treatment

Been researching prior to doing some Seafoam through the intake on my '88 SPFI, and I just want to know for certain whether or not anyone who has actually used it has experienced problems after using it, or a drop in fuel economy. I've come across a number of things on the internet saying "it works great!", but an equal number saying "don't use it, it's snake oil/damaging/just a gimmick!".

Two completely separate postings on different web forums indicated a drop in fuel economy.

Not to be rude, I'm looking for actual accounts, not "well I heard/read/was told this....." type things.

Edited by SmashedGlass

I've used it in many of my vehicles and have only seen good results. Better throttle response is generally the biggest improvement. I don't pay so much attention to fuel economy so I can't say much about that.

I'm no expert, but personally I have not noticed any negative results.

The smoke show at the end is always fun too!

Note: I think I am remembering correctly that the brake booster line is off to the DS of the intake, which would only clean the DS of the intake and the heads. So you'll want to find a vac line right under the throttle body, so it hits both sides.

Used it annually for 14-15 years on my 87 Brat. Generally right before I change the oil. Short of dumping the whole can in and hydro locking your motor I don't see how it can hurt anything. I have never noticed any significant change in fuel economy, if anything I would guess it got better. This I did notice after the first time I used it, I didn't have to run premium or mid grade any more to prevent spark knock. I think it cleaned carbon out of the combustion chamber restoring the compression ratio closer to stock. That is just a guess though, but an educated guess. I also high dose the bottom of a tank of gas about once a year too. Like 3-5 ozs. per gallon. I actually learned about it's existence on this forum!