Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Can these 2003 Outback leather seats be helped?

I'm considering buying a 2003 Outback LL Bean H6 (120k, they're asking $5300, in pretty good shape). However, the seats (especially the driver's side) are--I don't know--dirty? the beginning of cracks? I'm new to leather seats so I don't really know how they wear or age. I'm not sure what these light-colored streaks are. Does that mean the whole thing is dirty and they're just creased/not dirty areas? Or are the light areas where the color has worn off from rubbing? (the leather is painted, right?). In person they don't look/feel like they're ready to split/crack.

Either way, is there anything I can do about it to improve the looks or should I just live with them? The rear seats I'm not so worred about as I don't look at them every day. I've done some reading on general cleaning & taking care of leather seats for these Outbacks, but I want to make sure I'm doing the right thing (if it's possible) for whatever it is that is going on. Thank you!

[The image sizes aren't that great, hopefully you can see what I'm talking about.]

post-20729-0-76268500-1405480152_thumb.jpg

post-20729-0-09947400-1405480160_thumb.jpg

Ehhk! Pukesburg! Those a friggin gross!

Dogs and kids have seen to the ruin of many a leather seat.

The best you can do is clean them with a damp cloth with dish soap and warm water. You don't want water dripping all over because it will harden and shrink the leather, so wring the cloth out well before wiping the seats.

After everything is dry apply a leather conditioner. The stuff in the brown bottles at the auto parts store works well. Lexol? I haven't used any in a while, can't remember the name off-hand.

There may be some cracks/lines in the color coating on the leather. This is normal with age and use and wear. The brown stuff is not normal (on these) and may not all clean off.