Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Need Some Quick Advice on my 'new' 85 XT

Hi Guys,

About a month ago, i scored a 1985 XT Turbo for a great price, in near-perfect shape visually, and it drove pretty damn good to boot...

Since im new to Ru's, I took it to a trusted Subaru-only mechanic to give it a good once-over.  I had noticed the temp had been reading too high for my comfort level, which was my main concern.

Long story short: he claimed he checked it w/a heat gun and that the sensor was likely bad or a thermostat issue.  Told me I was fine, flushed the tranny (which made me twitchy), put on a new set of belts & sent me on my way.

Couple weeks later, the rough starts begin.  Flooring it cleared it up, which seriously concerned me.  I sensed coolant was getting into the combustion and fouling it up.  A week later, I stalled in the road...

Brought it to another mechanic, he found the bad head after I traced a coolant leak & showed him.  I don't think the block is bad as he's quoting me on the head & labor (hopefully, still waiting on est.)

------------------   The Big Questions:   ---------------------

1.  How hard is it to change the head myself?

2.  Am I correct in my research that this model (front wheel drive turbo) sports the EA-82T?

3.  Is there a good source for parts you're aware of if they try to take me to the cleaners?

4.  Is there more that can be wrong after this & I may want to have a pro looking at it anyways?

5.  I found this, is this what I'm looking for? http://parts.subaru.com/p/Subaru_1985_XTGL10-TURBO/HEAD-ASSEMBLY-CYLINDER-------------------92----B/49223305/11039AA780.html

Thanks to all for reading and for any potential advice you have to offer.  I will be a regular here if I can keep this thing running tip-top without draining the bank account...

post-54282-0-66461700-1406140421_thumb.jpg

post-54282-0-68205100-1406140436_thumb.jpg