Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1987 LSD and diff lock help

I am fairly new to the subaru scene but fell in love with mine after I drove through two feet of fresh powder snow with absolutley no problem or hesitation on semi-bald tires!

My question is....what is the diff locks function? Mine seems to work half the time. The light come on the dash when I turn the switch and I hear the click underneath the car and then the light goes off but then I dont hear the second click. Then I turn the switch back off and I hear the click again.

Now the lsd. I am framiliar with its function however I do not know how to check if it is working properly. I know there is a way to adjust the "preload" but I don't know how or if I should. It had the proper amount of fluid but the car left me stuck last winter several times when it shouldn't have so I am slightly puzzled. Seeing as the car has over 250k on the odometer I figured it was best to check these things out. any help appreciated.

The clicking it probably just the 4WD engaging and disengaging.  The LSD is not adjustable with other than the oil ingredients, and is always working to keep both tires turning at the same speed until a sufficient amount of torque occurs to cause that engagement to slip.  If you have LSD, then a metal tag on the rear differential will say LSD.  When you do not have 4WD engaged, you can hear the rear differential pop when you start a turn on a dry parking lot.

Your limited slip in the rear (LSD) has clutch packs in it that lock the diff normally.

They only break loose and allow slip under enough tractional difference, such as turning on a dry pavement corner.

At 250k, there's a good chance those clutch discs are worn out and need replacing.

This is not a beginner friendly task. Preloads and disc replacement can get tricky.

As for getting stuck, you need to lock the center diff to keep traction going front and rear, otherwise your center