Ultimate Subaru Message Board

high idle and flashing AT OIL TEMP LIGHT

Hi everyone,

newbie here, owner of a 1998 forester with 118000 miles, last week the check engine light came on and i took it to advanced auto for them to read the code. came back as P0122 guy said it could be the TPS or spark plugs going bad. car was running ok except it did have a high idle around 1400 or so. I ordered a TPS and installed it today , before removing the old one i disconnected the battery, as soon as i started the car the AT OIL TEMP LIGHT started flashing immediately and i still have the high idle.

any comments or suggestions regarding these two issues would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gerard. 

Make sure you do a full ECU reset when you disconnect the battery. Leave it disconnected for 30 minutes or more and push the brake pedal a few times during that time (that should make sure the power is drained from everything before you hook thee battery back up again)

• 2 weeks later...