Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Total Newb to Subaru's

Hey!

From Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada

Just bought an 2007 Impreza 2.5 Wagon.

It'll be my daily driver, and maybe down the road a "fun" car.

I really like the handling on it.  

I've never owned a Subaru before, so this is a new experience for me. (I come from a VW background)  I cant wait to learn more about these things.  

gU2l5U.jpg

SwOjxe.jpg

Thank you!!

I ended up putting my Thule racks on it.  I carry around 2 kayaks a lot, and the Subaru Cross bars didnt offer the amount of space I needed.

Trying to find out why the engine ticks... Thats not something I'm familiar with.  its got just over 200,000kms on it. the Timing belt was replaced at 177,000.  And in very cood condition.  It'll last me for some time (hopefully)

Edited by ouird

Nova Scotia !!!!

Welcome!!! We love NS !

Have a great time here and with your Subaru.

Feel free to Send me a picture of your car up in the Highlands or maybe out near Cheticamp or Inverness by the water. It's been 17 years since we've been there. Cape Breton great of course but Halifax is a gem of a small city too.

Thank you!!

I ended up putting my Thule racks on it.  I carry around 2 kayaks a lot, and the Subaru Cross bars didnt offer the amount of space I needed.

Trying to find out why the engine ticks... Thats not something I'm familiar with.  its got just over 200,000kms on it. the Timing belt was replaced at 177,000.  And in very cood condition.  It'll last me for some time (hopefully)

The ticking may be related to the valve lash adjusters.  I don't know if the valve lash adjusters are hydraulic in those engines or solid.  If they're hydraulic they should adjust automatically, however they can sometimes get gunk in them if the oil wasn't changed regularly.  Do you know what brand & weight oil is in the engine?  Have you checked or changed the oil since buying it?