Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Help choosing exhaust EDIT: Pics added(56k warning)

Some background info...I have a 97 OB with a Borla header and a custom catback (2.25) with a "ricer" straight through muffler. Its kinda loud and the mayor of my town is being a little napoleon and told the local cops to go after all of us. I have had my exhaust for about 2 year and have never been puled over. And now in the past 2 weeks I got 1 ticket and 2 warnings. And my brother got 1 ticket and 1 warning.

Now for the options. I have a wrx muffler I wanted to throw on to make it a little more quiet; however when I brough it to my local shop that made my last catback they are telling me they can't just cut and weld it on. They are saying I need a new mid pipe whether its from subaru($250) or if they make it with a resenator ($200). Do I really need the resanator? and is it worth the extra $50 for the oem pipe? Im a broke college student and would like to get it done as cheaply as possible. Any ideas or other posssible suggestions?

Thanks

Jon

i have a stock 2002 wrx mid pipe you can have for $50...

not sure if it will work exactly.. but $200 is way too much to pay for what you're doing.

Jamie

Thanks for the offer but when I bought the muffler the guy threw in the mid pipe also. I guess I should bring the wrx mid pipe up and see if they can do anything with that.

3rd cat? I didn't think bg's had that many. Do you have any pics of your setup? If you've still got a joint somewhere you can always get pieces from there back.

Yeah umm its proabibly 2 Im so tired right now. Ill try to get some pics tomarrow.

I do have 3 cats and a resenator. I also got some pics. And I "test" fitted the wrx mid-pipe and its kinda close, its just a few inches short. As you can see in the 5th pic the cat back is welded onto the resenator. So any ideas? I might go and ask if they can legnthen the wrx mid pipe and just bolt the mid pipe on after the 2nd cat.

exhaust01.jpg

exhaust02.jpg