Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I'm a retired mechanic w a weird issue. I have a '99 Legacy 2.2 5 spd wagon w 170k. A while back I started hearing a mild hollow knock that matched wheel rotation frequency. Suddenly one day it got loud enough that I limped home under 30. I'd already checked the right side thinking it was disc or axle related. Upon checking the left axle I detected slight slop so I put in new one. That seemed to fix it-took a couple short rides and no banging. Today it was back! It soumds like a hammer attached ri a tire hitting w each revolution. I did have some water in the rear lube from a bit of partial drowning(I tow a sailboat)but not bad. If the diff. got rusty I'd think there'd be howling bearings and if it were really coming apart that would happen quickly.  The only other thing that comes to mind is the driveshaft which should give a noise frequency faster than wheel rotation. I'll get it up on jack stands tomorrow. I suppose it could be the right axle but I replaced that at 153k.  Thanks,Guzzi John-Stumped in Minnesota

A bit of play in these isn't a big deal.

Why was the right side axle replaced? Split grease boot?

Rear axles aren't known to fail on these cars, but since you have a replacement axle on the right side of the car I would suspect that one first. Aftermarket axles get a bad rep here for a good reason.