Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Looking for a hand with Turbo MPFI Engine Electrical System

I just picked up a 1974 Super Beetle w/ an EA82T. The engine was pulled from a 1987 GL-10. It's a half completed project and I get to finish it up. It has set for a few years, so I'd like to fire up the engine for a quick test. What is the bare minimum wiring I can get away with hooking up to perform this test.

I'm looking for a high quality scan of the engine electrical system. Something like this, but higher quality.

post-57858-0-12583000-1428726067_thumb.jpg

I should probably mention, I am a noob. This is my first car project. Nothing like jumping in with two feet, right? :) I do have quite a bit of electrical, electronic, and audio repair knowledge. I can read schematics and follow instructions. Basically, with the help of the internet, I can get through just about anything.

Edited by Snerp

is anything wired up ? Fuel plumbed ? Got an ECU with a part number to help others zero in on this for you. The distributors part number may be a help as well.

Currently the harness is in a box, half hooked together. I want to get a pinout on the individual ECU wires so I know what they are and how long they need to be. Then I will measure each one, and mock up the harness on a piece of plywood w/ nails.

Fuel is half ran and so is cooling. Currently the lines are metal, but I would like to replace it.

This was exactly the extreme break down I was looking for. TYVM! I assume 87 and 89 are the same engine system?

For a noob, can I suggest a different path? I learnt this from being a noob myself.

It will take a lot more time, but is less prone to having something go wrong.

If you have a complete car loom, I'd suggest actually getting the loom laid out, plug in the loom, hook up a fuel supply, radiator, etc, and get the engine running with the loom not in the car.

Be careful to get the earth wires all hooked up back to the car.

This will get your engine working.