Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Changing spark plugs on my 95 Legacy EJ22

So first off let me say hello, and thanks for this informative site.

Im not very experienced in working on my own cars. Ive in a bit of a money crunch these days ad have decided to do some basic stuff myself. I have a Haynes manual which seems to help.

Ive succesfully changed the fuel filter and replaced a cracked fuel line.

The engine has been running really rough, and cutting off in the middle of the road, especially at stop lights, etc. I took it to the shop for a diagnostic and they said the spark plugs were fouled and the engine was running on three cylinders. I got some new plugs from car quest and they made sure they were gapped there for me. Nice guys, they have offered me some good info before. I changed out the plugs out no problem (didnt use a tork wrench though).

The car wouldnt start. I tinkered with the plugs and tightened them a bit and got it running. But the car runs rough still, revving up and down when in park. I took for a spin and it cut off, same as before. I double checked my haynes manual and it looks like I have the wrong plugs and the gap we set it to was wrong.

I just wanted to get some opinions and see what people thought, is this the problem? I cant get back to the store to get new plugs for a bit. Im hoping that this will fix the problem though.

Need more info. Is the check engine light on? How many miles on car?

Yes a ripped boot can cause a problem.

Check engine light was on, after I put the new plugs in its off.

185k on the car.

What brand of plugs did you buy?  Subarus really only like NGK or NDC plugs.  Champions, Bosch, etc. will often cause problems.

Ive got NGK V-Powers

BKR5E-11 is what they gave me (gapped at .044 i believe), the manual calls for BKR6E-11 gapped at .039-.043

Subaru engines like the stock plugs. It's been a while since I shopped plugs so dont know if you were upsold on plugs, i am guessing you were.