Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hey Guys! New to Subaru, but not new to cars. Impreza questions...

Hey Guys! Name is Harold, and I just got myself a FREE 1996 Subaru Impreza Sport with a 2.2L Engine, it's a 5 speed with AWD, so it pretty awesome. Has about 210K on it, and runs and drives really good actually. I was able to look it over on Friday at the shop when I did an oil change(no idea when the last one was even done), and found a few things wrong... End goal is to make it a rally car to beat on, and have fun. Although it was free which was awesome, it does have some issues, so I am starting with this because I am unsure really how to navigate this site so well, I'm sure I'll get better. But I would like to list the issues I have to see if somebody could lead me in the right direction. I am an Apprentice at a GM dealer so I plan on doing all the work myself, just want so guidance from some experts here, because the service manuals are not usually that good.  So here is goes...

- The shifter is bad to say the least, it is super sloppy, I mean really bad. the previous owner provided me with some bushings, but not really sure if I have everything I need, or if I can do better. 

- The left rear wheel bearing is shot, how bad is this to do? I have a press at my shop, but probably don't have the right adapters...

- Front brakes are bad, what are some good economy pads and rotors everybody has been happy with?

- It has 2 codes in the ECM

- P0325 Knock sensor 1 circuit (Bank 1)

- P0420 Catalyst system efficiency below threshold (Bank 1)

Are there any common issues with these 2 codes? if not I'll just address them as I usually would.

- It leaks oil BAD!!! Like real bad, It also seems to be leaking power steering fluid as well, The PS fluid seems to be the pump, and maybe even the rack. The oil is just everywhere though. 

- I also would like to do the Timing belt, curious how easy, and or hard that would be to do.