Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I've been chasing a consistent pull to the left for about three years now in my 96. The one with the lift.

I tried everything,

new struts,

replaced the knuckle with a known good,

replaced control arms with known good, (both from my other car)

loosened the front subframe and shoved it as far as I could from one side to the other,

changed front caster, camber, toe,

drilled out the holes in the strut towers so I could move the strut-hat around,

played with rear wheel toe,

had the car aligned by a local shop that specializes in alignment,

and more stuff that I can't think of right now.

Nothing ever phased it, not even a little bit. Always had the same pull to the left no matter what I did. I got the alignment screwed up like a football bat messing around with it, and it has eaten my front tires.

Finally last week I'm driving home from work on Friday afternoon. Pulling into the bank parking lot three miles from home I hear the steering pump start to whine. I stop and open the hood and the fluid reservoir is practically empty. Weird, because I've never had any problems with the pump or the fluid level. Absolutely no leaks, no fluid anywhere under the car. Completely dry.

I always have a quart of Dex3 fluid in the trunk, so I fill up the reservoir, deposit my check and head home, 3 miles away. Pulling into my driveway the pump starts making noise again. Open the hood, no fluid in the reservoir!

Where is my fluid going?!?! No leaks, drips, nothing wet under the car at all! Totally dry!

Steering rack boot on the right side is puffed up like a balloon!

So anyway, got a junkyard rack from a 97 Outback with 160k. Put it on today. Set the toe with my home-brew alignment stick, took it for a drive.

Let go of the wheel, guess what?! Car drives perfectly dead straight line. No more pull to the left!!!!!!!

:banana: :banana:

Several beers will be enjoyed as I burn the old rack with a torch!