Ultimate Subaru Message Board

So I've been driving my 96 Legacy LS wagon for over three years with torque bind but now it seems to be gone? I'd left the FWD fuse in it's receptacle all this time and now very unexpectedly the FWD light has come on and there is no more torque bind. I would like to thank whoever or whatever helped me with that? I am totally beside myself.

Edited by darsdoug

So you put the fuse in years ago, but the FWD light has only now turned on?

Yep. I never could get it to go into front wheel drive using the fuse trick. I tried more than once with a couple different fuses but  never had any luck. I left the fuse in back in 2013, but just recently it decided to start working. No shudder in tight turns anymore. I never did get around to replacing the duty-C. The only work I've done on the car ever since is changing the oil, air filter and antifreeze.

When you install the FWD fuse the FWD light should come on and you should be in Front Wheel Drive. this should stop torque bind, but it doesn't mean the problem is fixed.

When you install the FWD fuse the FWD light should come on and you should be in Front Wheel Drive. this should stop torque bind, but it doesn't mean the problem is fixed.

Trust me. I've been aware of that.

Yep. I never could get it to go into front wheel drive using the fuse trick. I tried more than once with a couple different fuses but never had any luck. I left the fuse in back in 2013, but just recently it decided to start working. No shudder in tight turns anymore. I never did get around to replacing the duty-C. The only work I've done on the car ever since is changing the oil, air filter and antifreeze.

Wire issue of some sort. Poor ground, loose terminal in the TCU connector maybe. Or the circuit in the TCU is wonky.