Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Can I use Subaru manual mode for everyday use?

I have an automatic Subaru impreza 2009 2.5i and I have discovered the manual mode, (The +/- in this image http://images.gtcarlot.com/pictures/47884906.jpg) and I have been using it for a while and I know how to how to upshift correctly it seems (I let the car downshift by itself) but I recently have been wondering if this is at all bad for the car. Will it ruin the car/wear it out more?

I just find it more enjoyable to use while driving, shifting myself instead of just pushing a pedal, I am a college student and don't have a lot of fun throughout the day, doing this makes driving much more enjoyable for me.

For anyone saying why I didn't get a manual, I am the youngest in the family and my parents bought this for my older sibling, my sibling no longer uses the car and I don't want to ask for a new car and don't want to seem ungrateful so I am using their car.

Edited by altiris

I have an automatic Subaru impreza 2009 2.5i and I have discovered the manual mode, (The +/- in this image http://images.gtcarlot.com/pictures/47884906.jpg) and I have been using it for a while and I know how to how to upshift correctly it seems (I let the car downshift by itself) but I recently have been wondering if this is at all bad for the car. Will it ruin the car/wear it out more?

I just find it more enjoyable to use while driving, shifting myself instead of just pushing a pedal, I am a college student and don't have a lot of fun throughout the day, doing this makes driving much more enjoyable for me.

For anyone saying why I didn't get a manual, I am the youngest in the family and my parents bought this for my older sibling, my sibling no longer uses the car and I don't want to ask for a new car and don't want to seem ungrateful so I am using their car.