Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1985 GL Wagon Water Pump Change

Hello I am a newbie that loves working on his new 1985 Subaru GL Wagon. I am wondering if any of you can tell me how hard it is or if there are any special tricks to changing a water pump. The Mechanic I took it to said it was leaking in multiple places and was wanted 450 to change it. Considering I bought it for $500 I figure I should do it myself. If you have any info on changing the pump, or any manuals for the 85 GL it would be hugely appreciated.

Thank you,

Dewey

You have to remove the timing belt covers and belts to get at the pump.  Unless you know how many miles are on them, and they are not close to the change interval, change them and the idlers.

Change all the small coolant system hoses while your at it.

Be sure to check the height of the pulley mount from the block side of the new vs old pump before installing it.  There were 2 slightly different heights, and if you pt the wrong one on, it's not good.

Unless you know there is anti seize was used when the existing pump was installed, get the car up to operating temperature BEFORE trying to unscrew the 5 bolts that mount it.  2 of them are under the timing belt cover, so get everything else loose first.  The hot engine will make removing the old bolts a lot easier, with less risk of snapping one off.  Alternative, use a heat gun and space heater to get the engine up to 180 or so.

• Like 1

For what its worth, I think a shop asking 450-500 is a fair price for their time. But you could do it cheaper if you have more time than $. It will not be a 30min job. If its your first time I'd plan on giving it a whole weekend. Don't start taking things apart if your gonna need the car the next day. Lots of little steps will take you longer than you expect because there is very little space to get in there. Especially taking off the fan and timing belt covers.