Ultimate Subaru Message Board

My Subaru's problems..( I am a newbie to this site and not sure I am in the right place to ask questions)

I have a 1999 Subaru Forrester with 148,000 miles on it.. I inherited it from my mom 6yrs ago when she was no longer able to drive due to her Alzheimer's. My mom kept it in terrific condition. My problem is that there is a leak of redish fluid on the front right side of motor...dripping out. Now, I was told by the guy who changes my oil at 10 minute lube, that it could be my differential since my Subaru is an all-wheel-drive. I have googled the Subaru differential, and to me it doesn't sound like it's the differential! LOL. So what I am asking is do you have any idea what that could be? I am a disabled senior, 64 years old.

Hello Toni and welcome to the site. From what you describe the most likely sources would be the power steering fluid (which would be the front right or passenger side). If it has an automatic transmission it could also be a leak of the ATF or automatic transmission fluid. Those would be the only two red fluids that vehicle would normally have.

The power steering reservoir has a cap under the hood that can be checked to see if it's low. The quick lube should be able to check it if you're not able. If it's the power steering maybe they can see if they can tell where it seems to be leaking from. The older style 90's power steering pumps had an o-ring under the reservoir that liked to leak with age.

Also - if the power steering reservoir is low - it actually takes automatic transmission fluid. Subaru's of that era did not and do not use 'power steering fluid'.

Edited by porcupine73