Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I refilled w/ Mobil 1 75W/90, and noticed smoother shifting. It's a good synthetic that is readily available.

Just pull out the drain plugs on both the front and rear - some people jack up the front of the vehicle to drain all the old oil from the rear differential. Subaru recommends a Three Bond thread sealant for the rear plug, but you can use teflon tape or Permatex thread sealant, which is also readily available. You could also replace the washer on the transmission plug, but I did not and have had no leaks.

You will need a long funnel to refill the transmission, and refill through the upper plug on the rear differential. Rear plugs can be removed w/ 1/2" ratchet, but I can't remeber the size of the metric front plug.

Take care

I have no personal experience, but I've heard a lot of good things about Redline oils. You might want to check into their products if you are looking for a top line synthetic. It seems that it can be a bit tricky to figure out exactly what grade of their products is appropriate for your vehicle, so it is probably best to contact them directly.

Commuter

My practice is to use inexpensive NAPA ($1.99/quart) or Castrol Syntec ($2.99 +/-/quart at Wal-Mart) gear oil and to change it once a year or every 15,000 mi, whichever comes first. This is more frequent than what most people do, but I want my transmission to last 200,000-250,000 mi.

I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with synthetic gear oil, but at $9.00-$12.50/quart, it’s much more expensive. I have opted for frequent gear oil changes over the long change interval that synthetics offer. In my opinion, if you go to the effort of checking the gear oil, you might as well go to the effort of changing it because it’s not that much more work. I like the idea of draining my transmission and rear diff of metal particles and other contaminants once a year rather than leaving the oil in there for a longer period.