Ultimate Subaru Message Board

rusted power steering lines, 93 impreza

I recently bought this impreza,,runs great, 100k miles. Won't hold power steering fluid for very long due to rusted lines, power steering works great after filling and for the brief time it has fluid in the system.

1. I'm not having much luck finding oem lines, anyone have a "spot"

2. There are several aftermarket lines that I've seen, but i've been told by 2 different mechanics to go with OEM, not sure if they are just grumpy mechanics or if there is good reaon behind this.

3. Why couldn't I just run high pressure hose (if i can get the proper fittings) from the rack and pinion all the way to where it turns up into the engine bay? This seems reasonable to me, but i'm a dumb electrician so what do I know. 

4. The repair/replacement looks to be not too complicated,,any tips or tricks? I'll try it myself at first. It's running dry on fluid at the moment so the worst case would be that I attempt and fail and am running dry without the lines connected, or ruined completely.

Any advice will be appreciated.

parts.subaru.com you can find the genuine lines; finding a dealer who offers the maximum discount is the fun part.

Not sure on the aftermarket lines, I just had those lines rust out on my '94 Legacy, right on the bottom of the rack, a shop said they could get only genuine.

I don't think high pressure hose would work at least not for the pump discharge. Well depending on how 'high pressure' the hose is. The pump can put out I forget something like 800-1000psig something like that before the relief opens. The return line hose might be ok.