Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Should I be concerned about this rust?

My 2005 Impreza Outback Sport spent its first 9 winters in Northern Pennsylvania before I bought it. I already replaced the front subframe because it was rusting out. My concern is a couple of areas of the rear suspension that have heavy surface rust and a little flaking off.

I wonder if this is compromising the structural integrity of these components at all, as I hope to keep this car a few more years.

I attached the some pics as files and are at the Dropbox links below.

post-54317-0-59177200-1465953992_thumb.jpgpost-54317-0-35543300-1465954003_thumb.jpg

IMAG0650.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/e9xvo5n5jrttvxd/IMAG0650.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/frkkbzan74efzrf/IMAG0651.jpg?dl=0

I am no pro ,  But i have 18 years with the DOT in CT,   Working with plow trucks,i see a lot of rust.  One thing i learned is just how strong a little piece of steel really is ,   ever cut up a old truck frame with a torch ?  a little stran of steel left uncut can hold lots of weight..  car has seen 10 harsh  winters and its flaking some.  now you are taking car of the car      that can be perforated like swiss cheese and still will hold..     you know its their,keep an eye on it,  to me that will last another 10 years easy.    paint it with encapsulator  paint if you want to help preserve it.

In my opinion that frame will last for many more years