Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Lifting my 2009 Outback 2.5i (completely stock)

Hello all!  This is my first post, marking my foray into modifying my currently factory stock 2009 Outback 2.5i Wagon.  

I live and work in Los Angeles, so I do most of my driving in the city.  However, I have been making more and more trips into Death Valley, Mojave, and other desolate, rugged desert locations, and have been tackling some pretty rough terrain in return.  I've shredded two tires in the handful of times I've been out there, both times from very large rocks.  I'm interested in lifting my Outback, as I don't want to do permanent damage to my car (like I said, lots of very large rocks and rough washes), but I am a complete novice when it comes to knowing about cars, so I'm looking for some advice!  

Where do you think I should start?  Larger tires would require a lift kit I imagine, also thinking about a skid plate, etc.... Pros and cons?  Thoughts?  

Thank you all for any help!  

Cheers,

Jack

There's a sticky in the off road section called the "unofficial how to lift your impreza"

Most of the same will apply to yours. I lifted a 97 Impreza using forester struts and springs and HDPE spacers and gained a lot of clearance with 28 inch tires.

With outback/forester suspension on yours you'll clear about a 27 inch tire with no rubbing. You can go bigger with a little trimming.

If you need to go even bigger it takes a body lift - SJR and Anderson Design/Fabrication both make them.

Well, the 2000-2009 Legacy/Outback rear suspension is a bit unique. You can find information up the yazoo on lifting the Macpherson rear ('90-'99 Legacy/Outback, '93-'07 Impreza Forester), and even a bit on the newer multi-link ('10+ Legacy/Outback and '08+ Impreza/Forester), but not nearly as much as the early multi-link